INGenWeb Project LogoWelcome to the
Miami County
INGenWeb Project
USGenWeb Project LogoSeven Pillars Natural Rock Formation - Miami County Indiana
Photo is Seven Pillars natural rock formation in Miami County.

Geography, Towns and Maps

Miami County was formed from Cass County in 1834. The county seat, Peru, was originally called "Miamisport." The town of Miamisport was laid out in 1828. Some early county records were destroyed by a courthouse fire in 1843. 

Other Miami County communities include Macy, Gilead, Birmingham, Stockdale, Deedsville, Perrysburg, Denver, Chili, Mexico, Erie, New Santa Fe, Santa Fe, Leonda, Bunker Hill, Loree, McGrawsville, Miami, North Grove, Amboy, Converse (began as Xenia), Bennetts Switch, and Waupecong.

Click on the township name below to view a township map.
Miami Co Township map

Allen Township Birmingham, Macy

Butler Township    New Santa Fe, Peoria, Santa Fe

Clay Township Loree, Waupecong

Deer Creek Township Bennetts Switch, Miami

Erie Township Erie

Harrison Township McGrawsville, North Grove, S part of Santa Fe

Jackson Township Amboy, Converse

Jefferson Township Denver, Mexico

Perry Township Gilead, part of Stockdale

Peru Township Peru, Northwood Estates

Pipe Creek Township Bunker Hill, Nead, Eagle Point

Richland Township Chili, Pawpaw

Union Township Deedsville, Perrysburg

Washington Township South part of Peru

Resources, Addresses & LookupsBiographiesCemeteriesCensusChurchesSchools
MilitaryPhoto GalleryVital RecordsGeography, towns, mapsSurnamesLinks

This site is maintained by Debby Beheler

This website is part of the USGenWeb Project.

Debby Beheler 1996-2012  All rights reserved